Annual General Meeting Minutes: November 27, 2018

– Posted in: Uncategorized

President David Saunders called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and welcomed our speaker, Councillor Willy Woo.

Councillor Woo, who was retiring after 12 years in the local and Regional Council, opened with a slide presentation and reminisced about the old times that he experienced in the village. He showed pictures of the Green Leaf restaurant that his folks owned and where he and his siblings lived. His father, who arrived in Canada in 1912, and his mum were the hub of Newcastle for many years. Willy was involved with many village activities such as arranging for the old Newcastle Public School plaque monument on Beaver Street or setting up the Town Hall Christmas lights with Rod MacArthur. He mentioned how proud his mum was when he first became a councillor in 2006. It brought back many memories for the old people in the room.

Ken Willis thanked Councillor Woo for his excellent presentation and wished him well in his future retirement.

Previous Minutes:

Secretary Warren Tait read the minutes from November 28, 2017. Lynda MacGregor moved that they be accepted and Carl Good seconded. This was carried.

Treasurer’s Report:

In lieu of Treasurer George Rickard, President David Saunders did not know the official balance but made a motion that it was around $930.00 and Lynda MacGregor seconded. It was carried.

New Business:

Robert Malone mentioned that he was pleased that train whistles will still be allowed in Clarington. The increased speed of trains was a safety factor that could not be ignored.

Nominating Chair Bob Malone introduced a new Ratepayer Committee member, Mr. John Pierrepont.


The Bowmanville Hospital Volunteer Association will be holding a bake sale on December 6th.

Marion Saunders announced that an anonymous donner has donated $1,000,000.00 to the Bowmanville Hospital Expansion Fund.

Date of Next General Meeting:

The next General Meeting is scheduled to be held on Tuesday, March 12, 2019.

The speaker in March will be Mayor Adrian Foster


Lynda MacGregor moved adjournment of the meeting at 9:00 p.m.

Related Posts